Loading...

Welcome to Koskenia

KOSKENIA is a new generation hostel, situated in the heart of Bidart, small seaport village located between Biarritz and St Jean de Luz, in the Basque country.

A place to meet, live and share , different from the others, a unique offer of accommodation, a grocer’s shop filled with local farm products, a coffee bar restaurant, a coworking area, a place to rest and to entertain.

Koskenia the other way hostel is a mix of all of that!

Innovative and different, that is what Koskenia is ! Come and meet travelers and local residents, enjoy staying for a night or more, in a private room. Try our Basque cuisine, come to chill, work or visit the Basque country armed with a list of best places togo in your bag!

RooMs

Book a private or double room at a very affordable price for visitors looking for an eclectic place.

coffEE, baR, ResTaURaNt

Come and taste in a friendly atmosphere our delicious homemade dishes cooked with fresh seasonal products from local farmers.

EvEnts

An Open stage offering various and eclectic entertainments (music, tastings, round tables) always highlighting talents and local artists.

dElicAtEssEn

In the heart of the village, products and goods of quality made from local farmers and craftsmen.

cowoRkiNG

Travelers, families, students come and relax, read, chill work on your projects with free Wi-Fi access

WhY choosE koskENia ?

A cheerful and cozy place : people from various backgrounds, hikers, surfers, families, students, neighbors, Bidart’s customers …taste a local beer, come and discover new trending artists, seat in our terrace, in our sofas, by yourself or with friends, hang out and meet new peers

An amazing location : Located in the heart of the village, only 5 minutes’ walk from the beach, at the crossing of the Coastal path of St John of Compostelle and of the Velodysee (cycle track) and only a few miles away from the Spanish border it is easily accessible from the railroad station and Biarritz Airport.

The Basque country’s taste : every product, meal, dish come from local farmers, taste the Basque gastronomy starting with (from?) breakfast to the night tapas … and a tour at the grocer‘s shop.

WhY choosE koskENia ?

A cheerful and cozy place : people from various backgrounds, hikers, surfers, families, students, neighbors, Bidart’s customers …taste a local beer, come and discover new trending artists, seat in our terrace, in our sofas, by yourself or with friends, hang out and meet new peers

An amazing location : Located in the heart of the village, only 5 minutes’ walk from the beach, at the crossing of the Coastal path of St John of Compostelle and of the Velodysee (cycle track) and only a few miles away from the Spanish border it is easily accessible from the railroad station and Biarritz Airport.

The Basque country’s taste : every product, meal, dish come from local farmers, taste the Basque gastronomy starting with (from?) breakfast to the night tapas … and a tour at the grocer‘s shop.

koskenia, what’s that all about?


In the past, the look out tower situated at the very end of the beach of Parlementia, used to watch over Bidart, a whales hunters’s village, and was also a useful landmark for the local community. Moreover, this essential look out tower, is represented on the village’s blazon.

By giving the name Koskenia to our Hostel, we are willing to give back to the old post building its purpose of landmark and centrality.

On top of the wink to the village’s history and to the bask language, the parallel between the functions of the look out tower and the post office was obvious.In Koskenia Hostel we wish to direct, to link, to comunicate, to convey informations through the grocer’s shop and the events planned.

A post office, is a place of transmission and sending mail, it is the link between the inhabitants and the travellers. The functionalities of the look out tower, the post office in the past, and the hostel we have created are almost similar : to be a link with the world, between people and services offered.

The symbolism of the name Koskenia for this emblematic patrimonial building in the village appears to fit excatly to our will to give meaning to the whole project Koskenia Hostel.

Chargement…

biEnvEnUE chEz koskENia

KOSKENIA est une auberge nouvelle génération située sur la place centrale de Bidart, village sur la mer entre Biarritz et Saint Jean de Luz au Pays Basque.

Un lieu de vie et de rencontres singulier, une offre d’hébergement unique, une épicerie de produits locaux, un café-bar-restaurant, un espace de coworking, de détente et d’événements : KOSKENIA l’auberge autrement est un peu tout cela à la fois.
Rencontrez des voyageurs et des Bidartars, profitez d’une chambre privative confortable, laissez vous tenter par la gastronomie basque, venez vous détendre ou travailler et visitez le Pays Basque avec les meilleures adresses en poche !

chAMbREs

Réservez une chambre privative ou double à des prix abordables à destination de visiteurs en quête d’un lieu éclectique.

 

cafÉ, baR, ResTaURaNt

Dégustez une cuisine authentique et savoureuse privilégiant l’approvisionnement local, les produits de saison issus de l’agriculture bio ou raisonnée dans une ambiance conviviale.

 

ÉvènEMENts

Scène ouverte qui accueillera une programmation riche et diversifiée (Musique, débats, dégustations…) toujours avec le souci de mettre en lumière les talents et artistes du cru.

ÉpIcERIE

Venez faire le plein, au coeur du village, de produits de qualité confectionnés par nos artisans, agriculteurs et paysans locaux.

cowoRkiNG

Détendez vous confortablement, visiteurs, étudiants, familles, lisez, échangez, chillez, réseautez, travaillez vos projets avec un wifi en accès libre.

PoUrQuoi choiSiR koskENia ?

Un lieu de convivialité : Des gens de tous âges et de tous horizons : randonneurs, surfeurs, familles ou encore étudiants, Bidartars, voisins… Dégustez une bière locale, écoutez un artiste, asseyez vous en terrasse, dans nos canapés, seul, à deux ou entre amis et rencontrez de nouvelles personnes !

Un Spot d’exception : Implantée au coeur du village, à 5 minutes à pied de la plage, au croisement du sentier du littoral, du chemin côtier de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, de la piste cyclable de la Vélodyssée, à proximité de la frontière espagnole et facilement accessible depuis la gare et l’aéroport de Biarritz.

Le goût du Pays Basque : Tout en provenance directe de producteurs locaux, goûter à la gastronomie basque, du petit déjeuner aux tapas…sans oublier l’épicerie.

PoUrQuoi choiSiR koskENia ?

Un lieu de convivialité : Des gens de tous âges et de tous horizons : randonneurs, surfeurs, familles ou encore étudiants, Bidartars, voisins… Dégustez une bière locale, écoutez un artiste, asseyez vous en terrasse, dans nos canapés, seul, à deux ou entre amis et rencontrez de nouvelles personnes !

Un Spot d’exception : Implantée au coeur du village, à 5 minutes à pied de la plage, au croisement du sentier du littoral, du chemin côtier de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, de la piste cyclable de la Vélodyssée, à proximité de la frontière espagnole et facilement accessible depuis la gare et l’aéroport de Biarritz.

Le goût du Pays Basque : Tout en provenance directe de producteurs locaux, goûter à la gastronomie basque, du petit déjeuner aux tapas…sans oublier l’épicerie.

KoskeNia KezaKo ?

En son temps la tour de guet Koskenia, située à l’extrémité de la plage de Parlementia, veillait sur Bidart, village de chasseurs de baleines et servait de repère à la population. Cette tour de guet essentielle, figure d’ailleurs, en bonne place, sur le blason du village.

En nommant notre Auberge Koskenia nous avons la volonté par cette appellation de redonner à l’ancien bâtiment de La Poste sa vocation de centralité, de repère, d’orientation.

Au delà du clin d’œil à l’histoire du village et à la langue basque, le parallèle entre les fonctions de la tour de guet et du bureau de poste a été évident. A l’auberge Koskenia, nous souhaitons orienter, faire le lien, communiquer, transmettre des informations par les événements, l’épicerie. Un bureau de poste, c’est la transmission et l’envoi du courrier, le lien avec la population et les voyageurs. Les fonctionnalités de la tour de guet, du bureau de poste en son temps et de l’auberge que nous créons se recoupent, le lien avec le monde extérieur, la liaison entre les gens, le service à la population.

La symbolique de l’appellation Koskenia pour cet emblématique bâtiment patrimonial du village nous a paru tout à fait correspondre à notre volonté de donner du sens à l’ensemble de notre projet..